Clicking on the following link will take you to Google's page to download Backup and Sync
Download Backup and Sync for PC/Mac
Once the download is finished please follow the instructions below.
WARNING: IF YOU PLAN ON USING BOTH DRIVE FILE STREAM AND BACKUP AND SYNC, PAY CLOSE ATTENTION TO ALL WARNING TEXT
Once you open the download, the installation will install immediately. A window will pop up with a brief introduction to Backup and Sync.
You will then be prompted to sign in using your account. This will redirect you to the uLogin page and you can login as you would normally. Sometimes, you will be redirected to the My Account page. If this happens, you can select Sign in with your browser instead at the bottom of the window.
Your browser will open up with this page and you will have to click Allow to give Backup and Sync permission to access your Google Account.
You can then select which folders that you'd like to be continuously backed up to your My Drive.
The next menu will give you the option to sync all or some folders from your Google Drive. This will make a folder on your computer that contains all of those files and will allow you to access them locally. All edits to files within this folder will be synced to your Google Drive. Any files that are added or removed from this folder will also be added or removed from your Google Drive.
You will see the following popup that will allow you to open Google Drvie to the Computers tab. This will show you all of the folders that you have previously selected for continuous backup, i.e. Desktop, Documents.
There will be a new icon in the System Tray at the bottom right of your screen. If you do not see it, you can click on the triangle on the left and it will show you all of the hidden icons. The icon is shaped like a cloud that will have an arrow inside it. If you click on it, it will give you an overview of the last few items that were synced and your synced status. If you click on the Drive icon at the top it will also open to Google Drive in your browser.
Now in File Explorer under Favorites, you will see a folder named Google Drive. Here you will see all of the folders that are currently being synced from your My Drive, that you chose in the step above. This is different from the continuously backed up folders as it is syncing files that are in your Google Drive already. Any file placed in this folder will be uploaded to your Google Drive.
Once you open the download, drag and drop the Backup and Sync icon into the applications folder. Once it's done copying search for Backup and Sync in Finder and open it. If you see a warning that says this application was downloaded from the internet, ignore it and click Open.
WARNING: If you have Drive File Stream installed, a popup will show at top of your screen asking if you'd like to use both or just use File Stream to sync your My Drive. We suggest that you choose to use File Stream for My Drive as this will prevent Backup and Sync from making a separate local folder of your files that will also sync with your Drive. If you choose to use both, we highly suggest that you only use one of those options for updating your My Drive.
If you click on the new cloud icon in the menu bar at the top of your screen, you will see a few of the latest files that were synced to your Drive. If you click on the settings button (3 vertical dots), and click preferences, it will open up a window showing you which folders are currently set to backup to your Drive. Under the Google Drive section you may select to sync your My Drive to your computer but we do not recommend this if you intend to use Drive File Stream.
Now every time something is updated in your backup folders, it will update in your My Drive.
Items will not be removed automatically from Google Drive if they are deleted from the backup folders unless you choose to do so in the preferences menu.